DUI in pa

Download Now

 

In the United States, local law enforcement agencies made 1,467,300 arrests nationwide for driving under the influence of alcohol in 1996, compared to 1.9 million such arrests during the peak year in 1983. In 1997 an estimated 513,200 DWI offenders were inprison or jail, down from 593,000 in 1990 and up from 270,100 in 1986.

What are the penalties for a DUI in Pennsylvania?

  1st Offense 2d offense 3rd Offense
Minimum Jail No minimum jail time required 5 days jail to 6 months 10 days jail to two years
Fines and Penalties $300** $300 to $2500 $500 to $5000
License Suspension No** 12 months 12 months
IID* Required Yes, if refusal to take chemical test Yes, during period of restricted license Yes, during period of restricted license

Lookback Period: 10 years (Period of time that prior DUIs are relevant for sentencing)

*Interlock Ignition Device

** Pennsylvania has a series of penalty tiers, depending on the driver’s BAC. The tiers are .08, .10 to .159%, and .16 or higher.

Learn more about DUI/DWI Laws.

How much do you have to drink (BAC*) for a DUI in Pennsylvania?

Under 21 .02%
21 or older .08%**

** Pennsylvania has a series of penalty tiers, depending on the driver’s BAC. The tiers are .08, .10 to .159%, and .16 or higher.

How many drinks does it take? Check the BAC chart.

What are the penalties if you refuse to take a chemical test in Pennsylvania?

Pennsylvania has an implied consent law. That means that if you refuse to submit to a chemical test you will be subject to a fine and automatic license suspension. Learn more about Pennsylvania’s implied consent law.

  1st Offense 2d offense 3rd Offense
Refusal to take test 1 year license suspension 18 month license suspension 18 month license suspension

Download Now

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*