Getting familiar with a particular state law when it comes to rental property is essential in avoiding future troubles. Each state has its own set of rules to follow and one state may differ from another regarding rental property and eviction. If you are seeking to rent a property in New Jersey, coming from North Carolina, then certain laws may not apply in each state law. For example, a landlord in New Jersey who wish to evict a tenant based on violation of rules or lease or failure to pay rent, must provide a written letter to the tenant and give them 3 days to fix the problem.
Guide to Tenants Rights
Every individual has rights to a decent and safe housing, particularly if you are considering renting in New Jersey, where tenants are entitled under a written contract for a decent and safe housing. Just make sure that you have inspected the inside as well as the outside of the house and documented on paper, duly signed by you, the tenant and your landlord. Inspecting and documenting for structural damages can later provide you with evidence that the landlord knew of these conditions and did nothing. Structural damages include water problems, heat problems, bare electrical wiring, broken fixture and railings. Normal wear and tear are the tenant’s responsibility, but any other existing damages are the landlords.
Under the New Jersey court of law, it is necessary to provide documents of the property’s condition with the signed agreement for repair. Since it is the tenants’ responsibility to let the landlord know about the repairs to be done, and failure to provide the documents, most likely you lose your case. In New Jersey, if you don’t have documentation, you don’t have a case as well. The same way that any amendments in the rental agreement must be made in writing or it can’t be approved. Exclusive possession of the rental unit is entitled to every tenant in almost every other state and in New Jersey. This law is popularly known as the New Jersey Covenant of Quiet Enjoyment. Which means even the landlord should have a written notice, 30 days prior to entering the unit.
New Jersey Landlord Rights
Any form of lease of contract is subject to all sorts of legal violations, especially if executed without enough legal knowledge of its implications. The right for a security deposit ensures the landlord security from tenant-caused damages or past due rents incurred by the tenant. The Landlord has the right to increase rent only at the beginning of a new lease period. Under the New Jersey state of law and Federal Law, no rent discrimination is allowed, or increasing rent due to race, gender, or religion. Certain municipal laws may allow landlords to increase rent if he or she is not making a fair return of investment of his property and should be proven in court. Other rights may include, rights to eviction and rights to the collection after eviction, all under the New Jersey
Landlord Tenant Law.
Being aware of the complexities and differences of each state law from the other can save you unnecessary future mistakes which may cause you a great amount of time and money. Discussing these legal situations with a knowledgeable and competent legal counsel is always a crucial part of any lease agreement.